SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following three Additional Judges of the Chhattisgarh High Court as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Sanjay Agrawal
- 2. Mr. Justice Rajendra Chandra Singh Samant
- 3. Mr. Justice Anil Kumar Shukla

Mr. Justice Anil Kumar Shukla (mentioned at Sl. No.3 above), whose name was not approved by the Supreme Court Collegium <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 19th May, 2017, has already retired on attaining age of superannuation. As regards Mr. Justices Sanjay Agrawal and Rajendra Chandra Singh Samant, the Supreme Court Collegium <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 19th May, 2017 has unanimously recommended that they be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Chhattisgarh High Court.

The only issue in the file that now requires our consideration is with regard to the evaluation of judgments of the above-named two Additional Judges. Supreme Court Collegium <u>vide</u> Resolution dated 26th October, 2017, available on the official website of the Supreme Court, has taken a decision that judgments of Additional Judges of the High Courts shall henceforth be called for and evaluated by a Committee of two Hon'ble Judges of the Supreme Court. In terms of the said decision, a Committee was constituted by the Chief Justice of India and the said Committee in its Report dated 13th November, 2017 has found the Judgements of Mr. Justices Sanjay Agrawal and Rajendra Chandra Singh Samant, as 'good'.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that the proposal for appointment of Mr. Justices (1) Sanjay Agrawal and (2) Rajendra Chandra Singh Samant, Additional Judges as Permanent Judges of the Chhattisgarh High Court be processed at the earliest.

(Dipak Misra), C.J.I.

(J. Chelameswar), J.

